Election 2016

Albany Telugu Association elections 2016 – Final Results:

We congratulate all the Elected 

Albany Telugu Association


 Officers for 2016.

 President :  

  • Suresh Malneedi 

Board Of Directors:

  • Ravindra Vuppala
  • Sireesha Nallamothu
  • Sreenivasu Manga
  • Sudha Datla
  • Swarna Latha Kota
  • Yadi Reddy Dudi 


Board Of Advisors (Elected Unopposed):

  • Sandeep Nagulapally
  • Venkat Milukuri
  • Venkata Bala Bhaskara Rao Perumalla
  • Venu M Chadalavada

Amendments:  Amendments need 2/3rd majority of the good standing members that is 558 out of 837 total good standing members.

  • None of the proposed amendments were passed. 

Instructions for online voting: Click here. 

Albany Telugu Association Election 2016 – Voting Process

The Election Committee has unanimously chosen electronic voting via website called www.votingplace.net . EC has chosen the same website as last year as it was best suitable for our election and secured. With this site, password will be sent to individual emails that are unknown to anyone but you, not even Albany Telugu Association Board or Election Committee as they are sent by the voting site. Password is alpha-numeric code auto generated so no one can guess. The passwords will be sent to all the valid voters on Monday (11/16/2015) and also a password reminder will be sent on Friday(11/20/2015) before the election day. The best feature is, it keeps anyone from knowing the votes casted. Only the final tally will be known to determine the results.

Election Date: November 21, 2015

Start Time: 00:00 hours EST/EDT

End Time : 23:59 hours EST/EDT 

Please see the instruction for online voting in this document(https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B9KrwWuAExaGTzVPTmVPc0pTTnc ) and also at Albany Telugu Association

 Website -> Albany Telugu Association Elections-2016. Hope Election Committee was able to meet the current need of the hour in conducting the election as fairly and openly as possible, we are open for your feedback for improvising this process for next election.

Albany Telugu Association Election 2016 – Result Process

EC wants to publish the results process ahead of the voting date, so all the voters/members are here by being informed about this process. Please also treat this email as a friendly reminder for the upcoming election on Saturday, Nov 21st 2015. You will be receiving a reminder email from ata2016@votingplace.net a day before.


-Voting is for a 24 hours period on Saturday, Nov 21st 2015, so please utilize this opportunity and cast your right in electing the best board for 2016.

-All the contestants shall be declared elect based on simple majority, whereas for an amendment to pass it needs 2/3rd majority of the good standing members as per the current bylaws.

 This information shall also be posted on the website i.e in Albany Telugu Association

 Elections 2016 page.

 Election Results:

Results Analysis: Sunday, Nov 22nd 2015 at 9:00 AM

Results Declaration: Sunday, Nov 22nd 2015 between 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM

The link to the results page shall be posted on Albany Telugu Association Website.

Tie Situation: Should there be any tie situation, EC shall administer as per the following. Starting at 2:00 PM on Nov 22nd 2015, in the presence of tie candidates, current President, Secretary and nominee’s(must be there for president tie situation) and members are welcome to watch(optional) at a convenient location(like Albany Hindu Temple)to all.

#1) Tie for BOD: For positions 1-5 shall be filled even if all five get same votes and/or few. For the 6th position, Lottery (by chits) shall be used to elect one out of the tie candidates.

#2) Tie for President: All the newly elected BOD’s shall be voting and electing the president, In case if there is a tie even after that then lottery(by chits) shall be used to elect.

PS: At local government/town board elections they follow this process called “Draw a straw”, “Flip a coin” etc. Since there is a chance for more than 2 people to tie we have chosen lottery by chit.

#A) If different Amendments were proposed for the same By-law:

The below rules will come into existence for selection only if both the proposals are passed. EC shall administer as per the following rules.

Rule 1: The amendment proposal with Maximum ‘Yes’ votes will be approved.

Rule 2: If both the proposals receive the same ‘Yes’ votes then EC will approve the proposal with Less ‘No’ Votes.

Rule 3: If both the proposals receive same ‘Yes’ and same ‘No’ Votes then EC has chosen ‘Lottery by chits’ process  to select and approve one of the proposed amendments in the presence of the proposers and the Albany Telugu Association Board at a convenient location(like Albany Hindu Temple)to all.

Please email to ‘ataelectioncommittee@gmail.com‘ if you have any questions. Thank you.


Election Committee 

Naga Kalapala, Harish Chakilam, Veera Janga


 Albany Telugu Association Election Notification for the term year starting January 2016

Albany Telugu Association is incorporated in New York State as a non-profit entity, and has been in existence for five years. Albany Telugu Association’s current officers will complete their one year term at the end of December 2015.

The Election Committee is charged with the task of soliciting nominations & conducting elections for Albany Telugu Association and also soliciting amendments to Albany Telugu Association By-laws.

Election Committee is in-charge and responsible for any Appeals, it is charged with the task of resolving any disputes the candidates may have.

Accordingly, the Election Committee is inviting nominations for the positions listed below. The title and the number of positions open for nomination, applicable rules, deadlines, and nominating forms are provided as well.

Albany Telugu Association by-laws are posted here. [ http://www.albanytelugu.org/images/by-laws.pdf ]

Also see amendments to by-laws here: 

http://www.albanytelugu.org/index.php/ata-elections/ata-amendments http://www.albanytelugu.org/index.php/ata-elections/ata-electionsarchives

Election Committee:

Following members are appointed to the Election Committee by Albany Telugu Association Board. Please contact the EC by email at: ataelectioncommittee@gmail.comNaga KalapalaVeera JangaHarish Chakilam 

Nomination Form: Click here.

List of nominations as of now: Click here.

List of Eligible Voters: Life Members & Annual Members 2015   

  • Election notification date 10/10/2015.
  • Nominations due date 10/24/2015.
  • Nominations withdrawal due date 10/31/2015.
  • Election Date 11/21/2015. 

Instructions for online voting: Click here.